On this page you will find details of our Cathedral Clergy, Chapter and Council.


Our Dean

  • The Very Reverend Dr Sue Jones.

Our residential clergy

  • Canon Myles Davies
  • Canon Richard White
  • Canon Paul Rattigan 
  • Canon Ellen Loudon   


The responsibility for the good management of the Cathedral rests with the Chapter. The Chapter consists of the senior Cathedral clergy as well as lay members.

The Very Reverend Dr Sue Jones
Cathedral Dean and Dean of Liverpool

0151 702 7220

Clare Blackburn
Executive Assistant to the Dean

0151 702 7220

Jayne Bainbridge
Contact for all Baptisms, Weddings and Funerals.

   jayne.bainbridge@liverpoolcathedral.org.uk  0151 702 7204

Residentiary Canons

Canon Myles Davies
Vice Dean and Canon Precentor

Canon Davies is responsible for the music and liturgy department.

     0151 702 7203

   For other music and liturgy contact details click here

Canon Richard White
Director of The Joshua Centre for Pioneer Ministry

Canon White oversees the development of our diocesan network of Pioneer Ministers. He is currently on sabbatical.

    0151 702 7243


Canon Paul Rattigan 
Canon for Discipleship

Canon Rattigan is overseeing our Cathedral's approach to developing disciples and deepening our congregation's faith. He also oversees our Education Department

    0151 702 7233

   For education staff click here

Canon Ellen Loudon
Canon Chancellor

Canon Loudon is working on our Fairness and Wellbeing agenda. Ellen combines this role with that of Director of Social Justice for the Diocese of Liverpool

    0151 705 2113

Lay Canons

  • Canon Judith Greensmith

  • Canon Linda Jones

  • Canon Margaret Swinson

  • Canon Andrew Holroyd

  • Canon Carol Wain

  • Canon Josh Akrofi

   For other Cathedral staff contact details, click here.

Liverpool Cathedral Council

The Cathedral Council is an advisory and monitoring body which is appointed by the Diocesan Bishop. The majority of its members is made up of people not directly associated with the Cathedral but who bring comment and opinion from different perspectives within the diocese.


Mr Peter Bounds
The Cathedral Office
Liverpool Cathedral
L1 7BR

Council members:

  • Canon Myles Davies
  • Mrs Linda Jones
  • Mr Les McKenna
  • Mr David Renison
  • Mr Michael Hilton
  • Mr Anthony Hannay
  • Canon Anthony O’Brien
  • Revd Philip Jump
  • Canon Paul Rattigan
  • Mrs Val Jackson
  • Dame Lorna Muirhead
  • Mr Zia Chaudhry
  • Ms Margaret Carney
  • Revd Dr Sheryl Anderson
  • Mr Neil Ashbridge