Experience amazing views of the city and beyond by reaching the top of the UK's highest Cathedral. While you spot the city's famous landmarks you can also view the world's heaviest peal of bells!


Why not do your sightseeing from above?

Liverpool Cathedral tower allows you to see all of Liverpool’s great buildings as you take in a breathtaking 360˚ view from the rooftop of the highest cathedral in the UK - 152m (500ft) above sea level. On a good clear day, you will see Blackpool Tower!

The massive Vestey Tower, named after its benefactors the Vestey family, has a floor to top height of 101m (331ft).

You don't want to miss out on this experience...

Liverpool Cathedral Tower Experience Tickets 

  • Standard £6
  • Concession £5
  • Family £16 (2 adults, up to 3 children)

Buy your tickets in advance online or from the Cathedral Shop when you visit us. For our opening times visit our Opening Hours page.

Opening Hours for our Tower Experience in 2022

 

What does the Tower Experience include?

If you are unable to experience this for yourself or want to know what you're getting yourself in for then this is what you need to know.

You start this experience via two consecutive lifts followed by 108 stairs! You will see...

The Bell Chamber

The world’s highest and heaviest peal of bells - Come along and see Great George and friends. 

(To keep you safe, it is not possible to allow visitors into the Tower when our bells are being rung.)
 

Also up our tower is

The Elizabeth Hoare Embroidery Gallery

However we are sorry to say, our exquisite collection of Victorian and Edwardian ecclesiastical embroidery is not open to visitors at the moment. 

Can't get to the top, or just curious what's out there?

Get an excellent taste of the views on offer before you ascend to the top by watching the large TV screen at the entrance to the tower on the Ground Floor, or, if you cannot negotiate lifts or stairs then feel free to browse the views using our unique camera facility.

You can sweep around to view the River with its famous landmark waterfront of the 'Three Graces', including the Royal Liver Building and a little further along the Docklands, the Albert Dock as well as out across the city itself catching many of its amazing buildings and in particular our sister cathedral, the Metropolitan Cathedral of Christ the King.

 

Tweet From The Tower

Take a photo of yourself or your favourite view and share it with us on Twitter: @LivCathedral and #tweetfromthetower.

Tower Experience Opening Times 2022

Monday 2 May 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Tuesday 3 May 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Wednesday 4 May 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Thursday 5 May 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Friday 6 May 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Saturday 7 May 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Sunday 8 May 2022

Opens
12:00
Closes
16:00
Last Ticket
15:30

Monday 9 May 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Tuesday 10 May 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Wednesday 11 May 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Thursday 12 May 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Friday 13 May 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Saturday 14 May 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Sunday 15 May 2022

Opens
12:00
Closes
16:00
Last Ticket
15:30

Monday 16 May 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Tuesday 17 May 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Wednesday 18 May 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Thursday 19 May 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Friday 20 May 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Saturday 21 May 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Sunday 22 May 2022

Opens
12:00
Closes
16:00
Last Ticket
15:30

Monday 23 May 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Tuesday 24 May 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Wednesday 25 May 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Thursday 26 May 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Friday 27 May 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Saturday 28 May 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Sunday 29 May 2022

Opens
12:00
Closes
15:00
Last Ticket
14:30

Monday 30 May 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Tuesday 31 May 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Wednesday 1 June 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Thursday 2 June 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Friday 3 June 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Saturday 4 June 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Sunday 5 June 2022 - Bell Ringing

Opens
Closed
Closes
Closed
Last Ticket
Closed

Monday 6 June 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Tuesday 7 June 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Wednesday 8 June 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Thursday 9 June 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Friday 10 June 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Saturday 11 June 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Sunday 12 June 2022

Opens
12:00
Closes
16:00
Last Ticket
15:30

Monday 13 June 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Tuesday 14 June 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Wednesday 15 June 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Thursday 16 June 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Friday 17 June 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Saturday 18 June 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
13:00
Last Ticket
12:30

Sunday 19 June 2022

Opens
12:00
Closes
16:00
Last Ticket
15:30

Monday 20 June 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Tuesday 21 June 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Wednesday 22 June 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Thursday 23 June 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Friday 24 June 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Saturday 25 June 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Sunday 26 June 2022

Opens
12:00
Closes
16:00
Last Ticket
15:30

Monday 27 June 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Tuesday 28 June 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Wednesday 29 June 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

Thursday 30 June 2022

Opens
10:00
Closes
17:00
Last Ticket
16:30

 

To reach the top of the Tower, you'll take two lifts and walk up 108 stairs. Please note: if you have asthma, other chest conditions, heart problems, or are pregnant, please think carefully before deciding whether to climb such a large number of stairs.

There are no external views of the city available at the intermediary levels. 

 

How many people does it take to change a light bulb?

Well, in our case – more than one! The huge chains used to lower the great central chandeliers (965kg/19cwt each) to the Cathedral floor (over 52m/170ft) can be seen just before you enter the second lift - just to change the bulbs! It takes a team of at least 5 people and a whole day to carry out this skilful operation.

The journey from the 2nd stage lift brings you to the bell tower itself from where you begin ascending 108 steps. This chamber houses the highest (67m/219ft) and heaviest (31.5tonnes/31 tons) ringing peal of church bells in the world.

The main roof section (101m/ 300 ft) above ground floor level and over 150m(500ft) above sea level offers panoramic views across the city as it spreads like a giant jigsaw of buildings, roads, parks and other landmarks.

Twilight images courtesy of www.rondaviesphoto.com


Read more about The Tower and Bells, or check our opening hours and up to date visitor information.